1 Utama / Restaurants

Chicago Rib House @ 1 Utama

You know pork is a specialty whenever you walk into a restaurant and there’s one entire wall dedicated to edible parts of the pig.

It seems every part of a piggy can be turned into a delicious meal.

It seems every part of a piggy can be turned into a delicious meal. Though I still can’t bear the thought of eating its ears and tail?!

Speaking of pig tails, I have this faint recollection of reading Laura Ingall’s Little House series, where their dad used to inflate the pigs tails and turn them into some sort of balloon? And my current self is thinking this is not possible?! and I must have remembered wrongly as a child. Yeah, okay. I just googled it and it DID, in fact, say that in the book, but I also tried google images and no relevant images appeared for “inflatable pigs tail”, so it is possible that at times, fiction is purely fictitious haha.

Chicago Rib House

Banana Berry: Banana infused with kiwi, mango and hazelnuts, then topped with vanilla.

Not pork, but I thought I’d include this picture since I love banana milkshakes. This isn’t really a milkshake, but it is creamy and could pass off as one.

Anyhow, I’ve been to Chicago Rib House about three? times. I wouldn’t say it is the best pork franchise in KL, but I guess it is a pretty decent place for affordable ribs. They always give discounts and set meals, and their vouchers are readily available at the seating counter (open your eyes and you will spot them), so if you’re the type of person who gets some form of high from a good deal, then this might be the place for you. It also helps that they mainly serve pork? And pork is yummy.

Chicago Rib House

Honey Garlic Pork Ribs

The most famous dish here is their signature pork ribs, and there are five different flavours to choose from, but my favourite so far is the Honey Garlic ribs. I find them to be tastier than the Original BBQ flavour, presumably from the Garlic? part of the marinade, and they’re also more dry (by more dry I mean less smothered in BBQ sauce).

I know its a Western thing, but I think it’s just a waste to cover up the potential flavour of pork ribs with a big dollop of BBQ sauce. What is the point then! You might as well have Chicken in BBQ sauce haha.

Chicago Rib House

Half Rack served with two sides: Beer Battered French Fries and Mashed Potatoes

In terms of portion, I would say a Half Rack is more than enough for one. The ribs come with two sides. And while I do not recommend their soup at all (it is those clear Chinaman ABC soup kinds), they do serve a pretty mean helping of beer battered french fries, yum. Golden crisp on the batter for a crunch that potatoes alone cannot provide, and I haven’t really seen fries like these served anywhere else.

Chicago Rib House

Baked Potato

You could also choose to have a stuffed baked potato as your side, but after you finish the ribs, it’s highly likely you will just eat up the cheesy stuffing and leave the entire potato behind haha. Happened on occasion.

Honestly, I prefer just having seasonal vegetables because I just shake some salt on them and I’m eating healthy hahaha.

Chicago Rib House

Flaming Kansas City

I’ve also tried the Flaming Kansas City flavour, but apart from the fact that they pour a shot of bourbon on the ribs and set it on fire for your pre-consumption entertainment, I still think Honey Garlic wins. But if you like the boozy tinge in your ribs, then this is for you. Ash enjoyed this pretty much. More than I did. But then again, men have testosterone-type pressures to say that any meat infused with alcohol is good, so..

Chicago Rib House

Pigs in Blankets: served with signature Bourbon sauce.

The menu said served “with”, but ours came with the Bourbon sauce already on it -.-

I would not order this again because I prefer my piggies to be in their blankets. That’s all. Not in wet blankets.

Chicago Rib House

Creamy Carbonara with Bacon and Bacon Bits.

Okay, and now I’m beginning to think their menu is seriously flawed because some of their food descriptions make no sense at all. Carbonara with bacon and bacon bits? What is the point of mentioning the bacon bits? Its like saying Rice with Chicken and Chicken Pieces? Am I the only one who thinks this is complete bollocks?

I’m pretty fussy with my carbonara, so I’m just gonna say that their pasta was just okay for its price. It tasted like a decent cheap plate of carbonara. Like the budget given to the chef was RM 5 so yeah, we understand why it is not great. Overall, I would say, stick to the classics here – pork ribs!

Now, all this blogging about food and looking at my own food pictures is making me hungry, so I’m off downstairs to find some food in the fridge. Meanwhile, I hope you liked Porky Palate’s very first post!

xx Sherry

________________________________________________________________________________

Chicago Rib House | 1 Utama

Lot F346, First Floor,
1 Utama Shopping Centre,
1 Persiaran Bandar Utama,
47800 Petaling Jaya, Selangor.

Tel: 03-7727 3210
Fax: 03-7722 5610
Hours of Operation: 11am – 11pm

Leave a comment